SquareOne Entertainment is one of the leading independent film distribution companies in Germany. Since 2002 CEO Al Munteanu and his team have co-produced, co-developed, distributed and marketed national and international independent motion pictures in German-speaking Europe. Due to SquareOne’s close relations with producers from the UK, France and the USA, SquareOne has been able to continuously access films with a strong commercial appeal.

SquareOne’s German production arm develops German movies independently as well as in co-production with production partners. Helmed by Head of German Productions Lars Wiebe, the SquareOne development team works closely with writers, directors and producers on developing and producing projects. Currently, SquareOne is co-producing TRAUTMANN, directed by Marcus H. Rosenmüller, and BLOOD RED SKY by Peter Thorwarth, two feature film projects in the pre-production stage. SquareOne will function as distributor for both films in the German-speaking territories.

With Morten Tyldum’s biopic THE IMITATION GAME the theatrical year 2015 was very successful for SquareOne. Sherlock-star Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley excelled in the poignant story about the genius Alan Turing. THE IMITATION GAME received the Academy Award® for Best Adapted Screenplay and attracted over 700,000 excited cinema-goers in Germany and Austria. An equally Academy Award®-worthy Helen Mirren stars next to Ryan Reynolds and Daniel Brühl in WOMAN IN GOLD, a touching drama about the priceless value of memories, which was viewed by 250,000 enthusiastic movie-goers in Germany. Noah Baumbach’s tongue-in-cheek hipster comedy WHILE WE’RE YOUNG brought a star ensemble to the screens including Ben Stiller, Naomi Watts, Amanda Seyfried and Adam Driver. In the moving drama BOY CHOIR, Academy Award® winner Dustin Hoffman starred as a choir director who discovers a unique talent in a troubled student. The cinematic year concluded with Eli Roth’s erotic thriller KNOCK KNOCK, which confronted Keanu Reeves with the hellish consequences of his “hospitality”.

In 2016 SquareOne has a thrilling and multi-faceted slate for broad audiences. Zombie and Jane Austen fans will be equally satisfied with the spectacular screen adaptation of the same named cult novel PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES. Dark humor, breathtaking martial arts action and an impressive cast in opulent set designs provide the movie with the necessary zest to become a cult classic. Streetdance meets ballet in the highly anticipated continuation of the successful franchise, taking the audience right to the glamorous birthplace of the dance movement: STREETDANCE: NEW YORK (OT: HIGH STRUNG) will hit theaters in July of 2016. ALL GONE SOUTH (OT: Babysitting 2) convinced over 3 million French cinema-goers last winter. German audiences look forward to this crazy slapstick comedy with crowd-pleaser Christian Clavier set in the Brazilian jungle this summer. Bond-director Michael Apted helms the breathless spy-thriller UNLOCKED, whose extraordinary cast includes Noomi Rapace, Orlando Bloom, Michael Douglas and John Malkovich – suspense-packed action guaranteed!

The 2016 SquareOne line-up further features two movies based on true events: the biopic RACE tells the incredible story of Jesse Owens, the biggest athlete of all times – adapted for the silver screen for the first time, in the Olympic Year 2016. Academy Award® winners Jeremy Irons and William Hurt alongside European stars such as Carice van Houten, David Kross and Barnaby Metschurat, with shooting star Stephan James and Jason Sudeikis in the leading roles. SquareOne CEO Al Munteanu took an active part in the making of the movie as an executive producer. A true story is also told in TRUTH, starring Academy Award® winners Cate Blanchett and Robert Redford. The movie tells the captivating story of a journalist fighting for her professional and personal integrity.

Some of the most successful movies released by SquareOne in the past include the theatrical 3D dance sensations STREETDANCE 3D and STREETDANCE 2. STREETDANCE KIDS (OT: ALL STARS) extended the brand STREETDANCE for a family audience. SquareOne additionally released several arthouse highlights such as the epic survival thriller ALL IS LOST starring Academy Award® winner Robert Redford, the heart-warming comedy PHILOMENA starring Academy Award® winner Judi Dench and the glamorous biopic YVES SAINT LAURENT. The opening film at Cannes 2014 GRACE OF MONACO starring Academy Award® winner Nicole Kidman and the French comedy HEARTBREAKER with Vanessa Paradis and Romain Duris are also included in SquareOne’s slate. Successful commercial releases were Zac Efron-starrer THAT AWKWARD MOMENT and the breathless whodunit THE LOFT, the comedy hit INBETWEENERS: THE MOVIE and the captivating thriller HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET starring Academy Award® winner Jennifer Lawrence.

The company’s home entertainment activity encompasses hits such as SEEKING JUSTICE and THE FROZEN GROUND starring Nicolas Cage, THE RAVEN with John Cusack or THE EXPATRIATE with Aaron Eckhart, FIRE WITH FIRE starring Bruce Willis and LAST DAYS ON MARS with Liev Schreiber.

The company’s portfolio includes feature films from companies such as Lionsgate Films, Pathé Pictures International, The Weinstein Company, Content Film, Bloom, Gaumont, eOne, Mister Smith, FilmNation, Vertigo Films, IM Global, Sierra / Affinity, SND, TF1, Good Universe, Arclight, Voltage Pictures, Foresight, Zodiak, Miramax, Hype Park Entertainment ans Kinology. SquareOne maintains a strong theatrical distribution partnership with Universum Film in collaboration with Buena Vista Germany, 24 Bilder, DCM Film Distribution and recently Sony Pictures Releasing.

SquareOne Entertainment

SquareOne Entertainment ist einer der führenden unabhängigen Filmverleiher Deutschlands. Seit 2002 stehen Geschäftsführer Al Munteanu und sein Team für Co-Produktion und Vermarktung nationaler und internationaler, unabhängiger Filme im deutschsprachigen Europa. Jahrelange Zusammenarbeit sowie gewachsene, erstklassige Kontakte zu Produzenten, vor allem in Großbritannien, Frankreich und den USA, ermöglichen SquareOne den frühzeitigen Zugriff auf Kinofilme mit hoher kommerzieller Ausrichtung.

Zudem entwickelt SquareOne eigenständig sowie in Co-Produktion mit Produktionspartnern deutschsprachige Kinofilme. Unter der Leitung von Head of German Productions Lars Wiebe arbeitet das Development Team von SquareOne mit Autoren, Regisseuren und Produzenten an der Entwicklung und Produktion von Stoffen. Aktuell befinden sich beispielsweise TRAUTMANN unter der Regie von Marcus H. Rosenmüller und BLOOD RED SKY von Peter Thorwarth in Vorproduktion. SquareOne ist bei diesen Projekten Co-Produzent und wird diese Filme in den deutschsprachigen Territorien auswerten.

Mit Morten Tyldums Biopic THE IMITATION GAME – EIN STRENG GEHEIMES LEBEN war das Kinojahr 2015 für SquareOne sehr erfolgreich. Sherlock-Star Benedict Cumberbatch und Keira Knightley brillierten in der bewegenden Geschichte über das Genie Alan Turing. THE IMITATION GAME – EIN STRENG GEHEIMES LEBEN erhielt den Oscar® für „Bestes adaptiertes Drehbuch“ und avancierte in Deutschland und Österreich zu einem Publikumsmagneten mit über 700.000 Kinozuschauern. Ebenso Oscar®-würdig spielte Dame Helen Mirren in DIE FRAU IN GOLD an der Seite von Ryan Reynolds und Daniel Brühl in einem bewegenden Drama über den unschätzbaren Wert von Erinnerungen, der in Deutschland über 250.000 Zuschauer berührte. Noah Baumbachs Komödie GEFÜHLT MITTE ZWANZIG, die dem Älterwerden mit Witz und Charme auf den Zahn fühlt, begeisterte mit einem tollen Star-Ensemble, bestehend aus Ben Stiller, Naomi Watts, Amanda Seyfried und Adam Driver. DER CHOR – STIMMEN DES HERZENS ist ein gefühlvolles Drama mit Oscar®-Preisträger Dustin Hoffman als Chorleiter des National Boychoir, der in einem Problemschüler ein einzigartiges Talent entdeckt. Mit Eli Roths erotischem Thriller KNOCK KNOCK, in dem Keanu Reeves mit den höllischen Konsequenzen seiner „Gastfreundschaft“ konfrontiert wird, endete das Kinojahr.

Für 2016 hält SquareOne spannende und vielseitige Filme für ein breites Publikum bereit: Mit der spektakulären Verfilmung des gleichnamigen Kultbuchs STOLZ UND VORURTEIL & ZOMBIES kommen sowohl Zombie- als auch Jane Austen-Fans voll auf ihre Kosten. Schwarzer Humor, atemberaubende Martial-Arts-Action und ein beeindruckender Cast vor opulenter Kulisse machen diesen Film absolut kultverdächtig. Streetdance meets Ballett: Mit STREETDANCE: NEW YORK kommt der langersehnte nächste Teil des erfolgreichen Franchises in die Kinos und entführt seine Zuschauer diesmal in die Welthauptstadt des Streetdance! AB IN DEN DSCHUNGEL überzeugte im Winter über 3 Millionen französische Zuschauer. Hierzulande kann man sich im Sommer auf die wahnwitzige Slapstick-Komödie mit Publikumsliebling Christian Clavier, die uns in den brasilianischen Dschungel entführt, freuen. Bond-Regisseur Michael Apted inszenierte den atemlosen Agenten-Thriller UNLOCKED und konnte dafür mit Noomi Rapace, Orlando Bloom, Michael Douglas und John Malkovich einen herausragenden Cast verpflichten – spannungsgeladene Action garantiert!

Zudem bringt SquareOne gleich zwei großartige Filme auf die deutschen Leinwände, die auf wahren Ereignissen beruhen: Das Biopic ZEIT FÜR LEGENDEN erzählt die unglaubliche Geschichte von Jesse Owens, dem größten Athleten aller Zeiten – erstmals fürs Kino verfilmt, im Olympia-Jahr 2016. Neben Shooting-Star Stephan James und Jason Sudeikis begeistern die Oscar®-Preisträger Jeremy Irons und William Hurt sowie europäische und deutsche Stars wie Carice van Houten, David Kross und Barnaby Metschurat. SquareOne-Geschäftsführer Al Munteanu war als ausführender Produzent an der Entstehung des Films beteiligt. Eine wahre Geschichte erzählt auch DER MOMENT DER WAHRHEIT – mit den beiden Oscar®-Preisträgern Cate Blanchett und Robert Redford. Der Film schildert die mitreißende Geschichte einer Journalistin, die von einem Tag auf den anderen um ihre berufliche und private Integrität kämpfen muss.

Zu den bisher erfolgreichsten Filmen im abwechslungsreichen Portfolio von SquareOne zählen u.a. die 3D-Tanzfilm-Hits STREETDANCE 3D und STREETDANCE 2. Mit STREETDANCE KIDS wurde die Marke STREETDANCE erstmals um einen Tanzfilm für die ganze Familie erweitert. Des Weiteren weist SquareOne eine ganze Reihe an Arthaus-Highlights auf, wie ALL IS LOST mit Oscar®-Preisträger Robert Redford, die hinreißende Komödie PHILOMENA mit Oscar®-Preisträgerin Judi Dench oder das Biopic YVES SAINT LAURENT. Ebenso zählt der Eröffnungsfilm von Cannes 2014, GRACE OF MONACO, mit Oscar®-Preisträgerin Nicole Kidman sowie die französische Komödie DER AUFTRAGSLOVER mit Vanessa Paradis und Romain Duris zur Filmauswahl von SquareOne. Erfolgreiche Mainstreamtitel der letzten Jahre waren unter anderem die romantische Zac Efron-Komödie FÜR IMMER SINGLE?, der Whodunit-Thriller THE LOFT, der Comedy-Hit SEX ON THE BEACH und der fesselnde Thriller HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET mit Oscar®-Preisträgerin Jennifer Lawrence.

Hits in der Home Entertainment Vermarktung sind unter anderem PAKT DER RACHE und FROZEN GROUND mit Nicholas Cage, THE RAVEN – PROPHET DES TEUFELS mit John Cusack, DIE LOGAN VERSCHWÖRUNG mit Aaron Eckhart, FIRE WITH FIRE mit Bruce Willis sowie LAST DAYS ON MARS mit Liev Schreiber.

SquareOne besitzt Spielfilmrechte unter anderem aus den Häusern Lionsgate Films, Pathé Pictures International, The Weinstein Company, Content Film, Bloom, Gaumont, eOne, Mister Smith, FilmNation, Vertigo Films, IM Global, Sierra / Affinity, SND, TF1, Good Universe, Arclight, Voltage Pictures, Foresight, Zodiak, Miramax, Hype Park Entertainment und Kinology. Zudem kann SquareOne auf eine erfolgreiche und langjährige Verleih-Partnerschaft mit Universum Film, Buena Vista Germany, 24 Bilder, DCM Film Distribution und jüngst Sony Pictures Releasing zurückblicken.